Milestone Award Recipients

Each year the National Guild presents the Milestone Award to individuals who have provided long-standing, exceptional service to the community arts education field.

2019 Recipients

  • Dava Cansler, Founder & Executive Director, Foluké Cultural Arts Center, OH
  • Joyce Drayton, Founder & Executive Director, The Georgia E. Gregory Interdenominational School of Music (GEGISOM), PA
  • Jon Hinojosa, Artistic & Executive Director, SAY Sí, TX
  • Matthew Hinsley, Executive Director, Austin Classical Guitar, TX
  • SoYoung Lee, Executive Director, Rocky Ridge Music Center, CO
  • Davin Pierson Torre, Director, Flint School of Performing Arts, MI
  • Sonja Zeithamel, Director, Preucil School of Music, IA  

2018 Recipients

  • Eric Anderson, Branch Director, Settlement Music School, Philadelphia, PA

  • Josiah Bruny, Founder/CEO, Music Changing Lives, CA

  • Lovett Hines, Artistic and Education Director, The Philadelphia Clef Club, Philadelphia, PA

  • Sachiko Isihara, Executive Director, Suzuki School of Newton, MA

  • Michael Remson, Executive and Artistic Director, American Festival for the Arts, Houston, TX

  • Teresa Coleman Wash, Executive Artistic Director, Bishop Arts Theatre Center, Dallas, TX

  • Bobby Welch, Executive Director, Gadsden Cultural Arts Foundation, Gadsden, AL

2017 Recipients

  • Renee Chatelain, President & CEO, Arts Council of Greater Baton Rouge, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Sarah Crowell, Artistic Director, Destiny Arts Center, Oakland, CA
  • James Kass, Founder & Executive Director, Youth Speaks, San Francisco, CA
  • Michele Kotler, Founder and Executive Director of Community-Word Project (CWP), New York, NY
  • Yolande Nicholson Spears, Senior Vice President of Education & Community Initiatives at The Bushnell Center for the Performing Arts, Hartford, CT
  • Rick Sperling, Founder & Artistic Director, Mosaic Youth Theatre of Detroit, Detroit, MI

2016 Recipients

  •     Cynthia Campoy Brophy, Executive Director and Founder, artworxLA, Los Angeles, CA
  •     Bau Graves, Executive Director, Old Town School of Folk Music, Chicago, IL
  •     David Lapin, Executive Director, Community Music Center of Boston, Boston, MA
  •     Nancy Ng, Director of Community Engagement, Luna Dance Institute, Berkeley, CA
  •     Laurie Russell, Executive Director, Winchester Community Music School, Winchester, MA
  •     Kwame Scruggs, Founder and Director of Programs and Trainings, Alchemy, Akron, OH

2015 Recipients

  •     Rosie Lee Hooks, Director, Watts Towers Arts Center, Los Angeles, CA
  •     Lydia Kontos, Executive Director, Kaufman Music Center, New York, NY
  •     Leslie Thomas, Community Arts Director, City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs, Los Angeles, CA
  •     J. Curtis Warner Jr., Founding Executive Director, Berklee City Music, Boston, MA
  •     Linda Weise, Founding CEO, Colorado Springs Conservatory, Colorado Springs, CO
  •     Dorothy Wilkie, Artistic Director, Kulu Mele African Dance and Drum Ensemble, Philadelphia PA

2014 Recipients

  •     Glenna Avila, Director, CalArts Community Arts Partnership, Los Angeles, CA
  •     Jo Ellen DeVilbiss, Executive and Artistic Director, The Conservatory of Central Illinois, Champaign, IL
  •     Beth Dowd, Founder, Songcatchers, New Rochelle, NY
  •     Robert Gilson, Director, School of the Arts, 92nd Street Y, New York, NY
  •     Jeanne Kelly, Founder/Executive Director, Encore Creativity for Older Adults, Tracys Landing, MD
  •     Robert C. McAllister, Dean, The Colburn Community School of Performing Arts, Los Angeles, CA
  •     Lynn Warshafsky, Co-Founder, Venice Arts, Venice, CA

2013 Recipients

  •     Susanne Baker, Founder and Director, DePaul Community Music Division, Chicago IL
  •     Paulette Bowes, Executive Director, All Newton Music School, West Newton, MA
  •     Amy Dennison, Assistant Dean and Director, College Conservatory of Music Preparatory Dept., Univ. of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH
  •     Martha Frantz, Executive Director, The Music Academy, Rockford, IL
  •     Stuart Kandell, Founder and Theatre Director, Stagebridge, Oakland, CA
  •     Dorothy Kaplan Roffman, Founding Director, JCC Thurnauer School of Music, Tenafly, NJ
  •     Larry Zukof, Executive Director, Neighborhood Music School, New Haven, CT

2012 Recipients

  •     Duffie Adelson, President, Merit School of Music, Chicago, IL
  •     Priscilla Kane Hellweg, Executive Director, Enchanted Circle Theater, Holyoke, MA
  •     Judy Herman, Executive Director, Main Line Art Center, Haverford, PA
  •     Doris Preucil, Founder, Preucil School of Music, Iowa City, IA
  •     Peggy Quackenbush, President and Executive Director, Hochstein School of Music and Dance, Rochester, NY
  •     George Tepping, Executive Director, Wausau Conservatory of Music, Wausau, WI