National Guild For Community Arts Education

About Banner

Forgot Password?

Enter your email below to help retrieve your password.

Forgot Password?
Home > About > News and Events > News > Field News > NEA to Host Student Assessment Roundtable Webinar

See what’s happening at the Guild, our members, and the Community Arts Education Field. Filter news items using the buttons below.

NEA to Host Student Assessment Roundtable Webinar

« Back

Jan 26, 2012

The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) will be hosting a live webcast, Improving Arts Learning through Standards & Assessment: A National Endowment for the Arts Research Roundtable, on Tuesday, February 14, 2012 from 8:30AM to 3:00PM EST.

Guild Executive Director Jonathan Herman will represent the Guild as an attendee.

The session will highlight findings from a national study commissioned by the NEA and conducted by evaluation firm WestEd: Improving the Assessment of Student Learning in the Arts. The report is the first nationwide effort to examine current practices in the assessment of K-12 student learning in the arts both in and out of the classroom. Patricia Moore Shaffer, former Senior Evaluation Officer at the National Endowment for the Arts, presented a session highlighting findings of this study at the Guild's 74th annual Conference for Community Arts Education in Boston, MA this past November.

Roundtable participants will include:

  • Daniel Beattie, Arts Education, National Endowment for the Arts
  • Tom Cahill, Studio in a School
  • Mary Crovo, National Assessment Governing Board
  • Stuart Elliott, The Board on Testing and Assessment, The National Academies
  • Karol Gates, Colorado Department of Education
  • Jean Hendrickson, Oklahoma A+ Schools
  • Samuel Hoi, Otis College of Art and Design
  • Sunil Iyengar, Office of Research & Analysis, National Endowment for the Arts
  • Rocco Landesman, Chairman, National Endowment for the Arts
  • Jack Lew, Laguna College of Art and Design
  • Tim Magner, Partnership for 21st Century Skills
  • Patricia Moore Shaffer, NASA (formerly with National Endowment for the Arts)
  • Francisco Nuñez, Young People’s Chorus of New York
  • Dennie Palmer Wolf, WolfBrown
  • Nancy Rubino, College Board
  • Sandra Ruppert, Arts Education Partnership
  • Steve Seidel, Harvard University
  • James H. Shelton III, Assistant Deputy Secretary for Innovation and Improvement, U.S Department of Education
  • Philip E. Shepherd, National Coalition for Core Arts Standards
  • Gene Wilhoit, Council of Chief State School Officers

This resource brought to you by the National Guild for Community Arts Education.